PoliticsTop Story

Only two people voted in the NPP’s presidential primaries in Mampong —EC

It has emerged that only the Member of Parliament (MP) for Mampong, Hon. Kwabena Owusu Ampratwum, and the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for the area voted in the just-ended New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential primaries last Saturday.

The Ashanti Regional Chairperson of the Electoral Commission, Benjamin Bannor Bio earlier confirmed only the MP and the MCE qualify to vote.

“The register was compiled according to those who qualify to vote. So in the case of Mampong, only the MP and the MCE are registered. The others are not there because their election has not been scheduled.”, he revealed.

The development is a result of the concerns raised by some constituents regarding the party’s album.

The Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia won the presidential primaries of the NP after being formally declared winner by the Electoral Commission, Ghana (EC).

He polled a total of 118,210 votes out of 193,346 to become the winner.

His votes represent 61.47 percent of the total valid votes cast.

His closest contender was Assin Central Member of Parliament (MP) Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, who polled a total of 71,996 votes, representing 37.41 percent to come second.

Former Minister of Food and Agriculture Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto polled 1,459, representing 0.76 percent to come third.

Source: Kapital Online Team//2023.

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policies of kapitalradio971.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *